Each Program Advisory Committee (PAC) is comprised of a chair and up to 5 members. The PACs are formed to review proposals submitted to a particular AS beamline, i.e. there is one PAC per beamline.

The roles of the PACs are:

  • To review proposals for use of the facility and to make recommendations for the allocation of resources if this is appropriate

  • To monitor the experimental program and utilisation of the facility

  • To make recommendations to the User Office and Director on issues relating to the beamline where necessary

  • To provide comments to be given as feedback to users on the outcome of their proposal and on how to improve future proposals

  • To, in conjunction with beamline staff, make recommendations on the number of shifts to be allocated to a particular proposal.

Macromolecular Crystallography PAC 

Peter Czabotar (co-chair) Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Jack Clegg (co-chair) University of Queensland
Mika Jormakka University of Sydney
Sheena McGowan Monash University
Alice Vrielink University of Western Australia
Jonathan White University of Melbourne

Powder Diffraction PAC

Mark Styles (chair) CSIRO
Michael Cortie UTS
Talitha Santini University of Queensland
Neeraj Sharma University of NSW
Sasha Wilson Monash University
Fang Xia Murdoch University

Infrared PAC

David Beattie (chair) University of South Australia
Elizabeth Carter University of Sydney
Ludo Dumee Deakin University
Alex Nichols University of Canterbury
Christopher Thompson Monash University
Thomas Rodemann University of Tasmania

Imaging & Medical PAC

Megan Wallace (chair) Monash University
Nicola Scarlett CSIRO
Jessica Lye ARPANSA
Tracy Rushmer Macquarie University
Richard Garrett ANSTO
Marcus Kitchen Monash University

Soft X-Ray PAC

Roland De Marco (chair) University of the Sunshine Coast
Vladimir Golovko University of Canterbury
Jennifer Macleod Queensland University of Technology
Ian Gentle University of Queensland
Luhua Li Deakin University
Dongchen Qi LaTrobe University

Microspectroscopy PAC

Peter Kopittke (chair) University of Queensland
Gawain McColl Florey Institute
Erica Donner University of South Australia
Frank Reith CSIRO
Mark Hackett Curtin University
Louise Fisher CSIRO


James Murphy (chair) Walter and Eliza Hall Institute
Cara Doherty CSIRO
Idriss Blakey University of Queensland
Matthew Rowles Curtin University
Tamar Greaves RMIT University
Emily Parker University of Canterbury


Zhaoming Zhang (chair) ANSTO
Terry Seward Victoria University of Wellington
David Waite University of NSW
Rosalie Hocking James Cook University
Peter Lay University of Sydney
Joel Brugger Monash Univeristy


Amanda Edgley (chair) University of Melbourne
Stephen Best University of Melbourne
Gary Bryant RMIT University
Katy Evans Curtin University
Gordon Southam University of Queensland
Matthew Hill CSIRO